Ultimate favourites.

I may as well jump right into this, I have a few things that I want to review and discuss but first I’ll be a gentleman and introduce myself; not the kind of introduction where I tell you my favourite colour (green) or my dream job (tv producer) but the kind where I tell you what my favourite shows/books/films etc and anything else that’s relevant.

Let’s start with films…

FILM:

I fell in love with cinema when I was about 15, I did Film Studies at Sixth Form and am doing a module about film and its meaning next semester. I’ll watch pretty much anything, although I’m not really a fan of many war films or romantic comedies, but if it has a good story line and good acting I’m there.

Top 5 films: 

  1. The Breakfast Club (1986). Who doesn’t love some teen angst mixed with actual societal truths and a effortlessly flawless cast?
  2. Scream (1996). Remember when I said I loved horror films? Yeah, I have this film to thank! Not only is the dialogue whitty, the kills are great (in a horror-loving way not an actual serial killer) and it revitalised the slasher genre from the dark depths of the mid 80’s.
  3. Donnie Darko (2001). Again more teen angst and psychotic episodes but DD adds paradoxes and creepy bunnies to the mix bringing together this mind boggling, yet beautiful, piece of film .
  4. Scooby-Doo and the Witch’s Ghost (1999). I like horror films, I love mysteries.. so it’s no wonder that as a kid my favourite show was Scooby-Doo. This particular one was my favourite because it has a Witch’s ghost in it, obviously. It also has Billy Ray Cyrus doing some gnarly things with the theme tune.
  5. The Craft (1996). And last but not least this film about 4 girls who mess around with stuff they don’t understand (magic) and end up getting into some serious hot water. I thank my sister for introducing me to this film when I was about 8 and starting my life-long obsession with witches.

BOOKS:

I have a love/hate relationship with reading. I feel really annoyed if I read a book and didn’t enjoy it. Mostly at myself because I can’t seem to stop reading a book once I start. My favourites include..

Top 5 books: 

  1. The Hunger Games Trilogy. I arrived pretty late to this fan club but I caught up quick enough. Reading over half the book in one sitting right before bed wasn’t my intention but the story gripped me and the first 2 books were great, the third wasn’t that great but definitely picked up.
  2. Harry Potter. Do I really need to explain this? I am part of the Harry Potter generation.
  3.  And Then There Were None. I love mystery novels. I love Agatha Christie. What I don’t love is the original title to this book.
  4. Carrie. The book, the film(s?) everything about this story is fascinating. I love it. Why isn’t Carrie in the list above?!

T.V:

As much as I love film, T.V is my real home. I have been known to binge watch and obsess and write fanfiction and force my friends to watch shows so that I have people to talk to about my current obsession. It’s a little harder for me to choose 5 shows that I’d call my favourite because it can, and has been known to, change. So I’ll go with my top 3.

Top 3 TV shows: 

  1. Buffy the Vampire Slayer (1997-2003). Where do I even begin?! This has been my favourite show since I was 6 years old, I love everything about it. It’s helped me a lot. If you’re a BtVS fan you know what I mean. The fans are (mostly) great too, you’ll have friends for life with people who love Buffy.
  2. Orphan Black (2013). TATIANA MASLANY. One of THEE best actresses to ever walk onto a screen. She plays clones. A LOT OF CLONES. Each with their own characteristics, accents, movements, voices. Oh my, she’s insanely talented and the writing is brilliant.
  3. Veronica Mars (2004-2007). 3 seasons and a movie! The short-lived mystery was brilliant and Veronica was the most perfect protagonist. The movie was also a winner!

That’s pretty much it for my ultimate favourites. I probably should do a more contemporary list at some point, but this’ll do for now.

Thanks for reading,

all the best,

Andrew!

Leave a Reply

