The first 8 minutes of the ‘Scream’ TV Series. *SPOILERS*

Recently MTV gave fans anticipating the Scream TV Series the first 8 minutes of the new show, due to air on the 30th of June. Releasing the first 8 minutes is like showing the opening kill, something Scream do so well. The clip gives viewers a little taste of what’s to expect from the first season showing us Bella Thorne’s character Nina being brutally murdered in her own home. We’re also introduced to Audrey (played by Bex Taylor-Klaus) looking distressed as she watches a video, filmed without her knowledge and posted to social media, of herself kissing another girl.

BARE IN MIND THAT I AM ONLY GOING OFF 8 MINUTES, ANYTHING I SAY IS BASED SOLELY ON THE CLIP, THIS IS NOT A REVIEW OR GENERALISATION OF THE ENTIRE SHOW, JUST THE 8 MINUTES THAT I’VE SEEN.

One thing that hit me in the face when watching was the extreme use of social media/technology. When Scream 4 hit screens they subtly showed us that the franchise had moved with the times, instead of landline phones the characters had iPhones etc. However, with the clip from the TV series I feel like the use of social media and technology is a little forced onto us. Nina is the ever important Scream Queen, and a good one at that. When watching I didn’t know whether I hated her or loved her. There’s a thin line between bitchy and sassy and I’m not sure which side Nina walks on, if she walks on any. Her scene screamed to me Drew Barrymore in the opening of Scream. The house was similar, she had that flirty, teasing attitude that Casey Becker has with the killer in the first film but ultimately it leads to her death as it does with Nina. The kills seem bolder this time round, with Nina’s ‘boyfriend’ (if that’s even what they were) being decapitated and his head thrown in the pool it seems like an extremely bold change to the stabbings in the franchise. One thing that still seems to remain in the show is the sexiness and the edginess that Scream has. I’m not talking about the characters and their appearance, nor do I mean the murder because murder isn’t cool, I mean the ambiance. For me, Scream has always had a certain sexy, sleek feel to it. It’s cool and edgy. The same can be said for many films of the 90’s and Scream does ‘scream’ 90’s culture. Even in the 4th film and now (hopefully) in the show. The music, the setting and the anticipation. It’s exciting and dramatic, it’s what horror should be. The biggest noticable difference is, of course, the mask. The Scream mask is an icon of horror but the series decided the leave that Ghostface at the door and go with something a little more twisted. Personally, I dislike the new mask. It’s not a bad mask, but for me something that adds to the franchise is that iconic mask. But maybe this new one will grow on me. After seeing the clip and enjoying it, I’m looking forward to the show. I love the films a lot and I don’t the show will be as good. BUT, that doesn’t mean it won’t be good. And, like I said, I’ve only seen 8 minutes. Don’t forget, June 30th on MTV, you’ll never see it coming. 

Thanks for reading,

All the best.

Andrew!

If you liked this and want to read more like it feel free to check out/follow my blog!

my better face

Leave a Reply

