Fear Friday: ‘Goodnight Mommy’ Trailer Review!

From the minds of Severin Fiala and Veronika Franz comes Goodnight Mommy (Ich seh, Ich seh) and Austrian film which follows 9 year old twin brothers as they await for their mother to return from the hospital. However, when she does return, bandaged and silent the boys are convinced that the thing under the bandages isn’t their mother at all.

The boys rush into their Mother's bedroom to see her after she returns from the hospital.

The boys rush into their Mother’s bedroom to see her after she returns from the hospital.

Twitch said the film “Gets under your skin early and stays there” and if the trailer is anything to go by, it seems like the whole experience will leave viewers unable to sit still. The opening shots depict beautiful country landscapes, big corn fields and magnificent woods… the perfect place to recover from big surgery; quiet, isolated and undisturbed.

twins

It’s difficult to tell what it was that makes this trailer so unnerving. Personally I’ve always found foreign horror films scarier than the American ones; I like feeling uncomfortable when watching horror films, I enjoy the feeling of not being able to sit still and being genuinely engrossed in the story line and not being present just for the action. And the Goodnight Mommy trailer gives me that feeling.

Something I enjoy most about foreign cinema is it gives me the opporunity to experience the film more. I can’t just listen to the film in the background, I have to  sit and watch it to be able to read the subtitles. Which also brings me to judging the acting one a more physical level; looking at the way the actors move and their presence on screen. The Goodnight Mommy trailer is laced with the Mother’s presence; she doesn’t speak a word yet my attention isn’t anywhere else. The relationship between the 2 boys and their ‘mother’ is very similar from both sides; the first half of the trailer sees Mommy watching them as they go about their summer, the second half sees the boys watching their mother, questioning her, testing her. It’s unsure who it is actually has the power.

The twins watch as their mother mysteriously walks to the woods in the middle of the night.

The twins watch as their mother mysteriously walks to the woods in the middle of the night.

I’m super excited to see this film, I’m not sure if it’s going to be released in UK theatres yet, but as soon as I find out I’ll be sure to make it known! This looks like exactly what horror fans need, I’m tired of Paranormal Activity and Insidious being the films that modern horror is associated with!

Watch the trailer and tell me what you think!

Thanks for reading!

All the best,

Andrew!

Leave a Reply

