This month with Actual Andrew: August.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

August is my favourite month of the year for a couple of reasons:

  1. It’s the summer holidays and while summer in Britain means just a little less rain than usual I do like to take advantage of the lie ins.
  2. IT’S MY BIRTHDAY! Which means, more often than not, the arrival of new DVDs and boxsets!

So, I’ll be passing the time between now and my birthday (which is towards the end of the month) the same way I usually do; a little gaming, binge watching and reading comics.

This month I’m playing 2 games. The first is Batman: Arkham City on PS3, I’m not a MASSIVE gamer, (I’ve been playing the same 5 games for about 10 years) but I do love Batman and with all the hype around Arkham Knight I’ve felt the need to satisfy my Batman cravings and as I don’t own a PS4, Arkham City seemed a good way to go! I’m enjoying it a lot, it’s challenging and fun. Just what I wanted! The second game I’m playing is Tomb Raider, I’m playing this with my girlfriend so I’m not playing it as often as I am Batman but I’m definitely loving it. It’s fascinating seeing Lara’s origin and equally entertaining watching my girlfriend being absorbed in the tasks and action.

DSCN0951DSCN0949

I’m also making use of my Netflix account again this month and am currently making my way through Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries. This Australian series follows Phryne Fisher, an amateur detective in Australia solving mysteries in the roaring 20’s. This is such a refreshing take on the murder mystery genre. It has the ambiance and class of Agatha Christie with the wit, and sass of Veronica Mars.

DSCN0964

Finally, I’ll be reading a few comics this month: The first is Astonishing X-Men by Joss Whedon. It’s no secret that I’m a big Whedon fan and I also love X-Men, so that seemed like an easy choice. I’m also going to be reading The Wicked and The Divine, I’ve read the first few issues and fell in love but I also fell behind so I’ll be starting again from the beginning and catching up! I’ll also be keeping up with Marvel: Secret Wars event. From that series I read the main event, Starlord and Kitty Pryde and Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps.

I think that’ll keep me occupied for thee next few weeks!

Thanks for reading,

all the best!

Andrew!

Leave a Reply

