Kingsman: The Secret Service (2014)

I realise that I’m a little late to this party but it’s better late than never, am I right? Kingsman: The Secret Service follows Gary ‘Eggsy’ Unwin, a rough, cockney lad who lives with his mother, abusive stepfather and half-sister in a small flat in London. 17 years previous Eggsy’s father sacrifices himself during training for Kingsman a spy organisation that deals with threats to the globe with complete secrecy. After the death of Eggsy’s father agent Gallahad (Colin Firth) visits the Unwin family and gives young Eggsy a medal telling him to call the number on the back if ever he needed help. A now adult Eggsy calls the number to help, Galahad arranges his release and tells Eggsy about Kingsman, putting him in as a candidate to replace fallen agent Lancelot. Whilst training for the place against 7 other potential agents Eggsy becomes involved in a plot to decrease the human population by internet billionaire Richmond Valentine (Samuel L. Jackson) thus reducing carbon emissions creating a healthier world.

Co-written between Matthew Vaughn and Jane Goldman who both wrote the film adaptation of Kick Ass I knew going into this viewing there would be violence and strong language. The film didn’t disappoint. Oddly, hearing the swearing in an English accent made it even more enjoyable. However, I was completely stunned by the violence. There were times that Kingsman crossed a line that I’d not seen in most horror films – not particularly the acts of violence themselves but the way it was done left me feeling a little nauseous at times yet, strangely, I liked that it did. It was outrageous and completely unrealistic but still had that gritty, realism effect on me that made me believe it. And if violence isn’t your thing then I don’t think Kingsman is for you.

On saying that, there’s a lot more to the film than just the violence! Kingsman doesn’t take itself too seriously much like Paul Feig’s Spy it mocks the genre conventions it relies on while still maintaining a good plot, outrageous, but good! The story flows well, with a good mixture between comedy, action and drama it’s so easy to keep interested in Kingsman because of how natural and easy it feels unlike spoof films it manages to mix satire and action wonderfully to maintain a decent spy film.

Not being a huge James Bond fan it’s not very often I get to enjoy a Spy film where the characters are British I find that Bond can be a little too serious but working class Eggsy makes quite the Spy; his working class tricks and wit and are what eventually bring him to the top time and time again making his cocky attitude well deserved. I almost felt a sense of national pride watching Kingsman.

All in all I really enjoyed Kingsman, it had the crossed boundaries and self awareness of Kick Ass but made me enjoy a genre that I often find can be a little dry and too serious. It was exciting, funny and mental – a perfect combination.

Thanks for reading,

all the best,

Andrew!

4 thoughts on “Kingsman: The Secret Service (2014)

  1. actualandrew says:

    I loved it! And I know what you’re saying, I had originally intended to put something about Firth in there but I was struggling with the wording so left it out. He was certainly epic in it though, no doubt about that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

