Thursday Movie Picks: Villainous Children.

I’m very excited to take part in my first ever Thursday Movie Picks, hosted by Wandering Through the Shelves and what better time to start than during the horror movie month! This weeks theme is Villainous Children suggested by Wendell at Dell on Movies! One of the signs of a good horror film is when they take something sweet, innocent and loving and turn it into something terrifying. And while there are mountain of films that have creepy children in them it’s these 3 that I’m going with:

The Omen: I’m positive that this young man will be an extremely popular choice this week because, really, he’s kind of the Devil himself. Rarely speaking a word in the first film it’s amazing how much power the youngster has. He’s creepy, unsettling and evil incarnate. I’ll never forget that iconic birthday party scene. So, with that being said, this is for you Damien!

damien

Alice, Sweet Alice: This slasher follows Alice, a withdrawn and rather mean young girl who becomes the main suspect when her younger sister is murdered during her first Holy Communion. The kid dons a creepy, translucent mask and runs around scaring anyone she can. She steals her sisters doll, lures her into an abandoned building and locks her into a room at one point out of jealousy. She has all the makings of a psychopath and definitely gives me the chills!

Alice-Sweet-Alice-21

Ils: The French home invasion films that I mentioned in one of my Fear Friday posts sees a couple terroised in their own home by a group of children aged between 10 and 15. What makes these kids so terrifying isn’t actually what they do (which is pretty disgusting) but their justification of their actions: “They wouldn’t play with us” – like it was all some game for them. For me, that’s scarier than any possessed child or demonic off spring!

Ils

That’s my 3 picks for the week!

Thanks for reading,

all the best,

Andrew!

18 thoughts on “Thursday Movie Picks: Villainous Children.

  1. Myerla says:

    Nice pick with Ils (or Them), I’ve seen that (and The Omen) but a long time ago. Pretty intense from what I remember. I tried to avoid selecting The Omen because I feared it’ll be too popular, picked twice already. Haha.

    Like

  2. Brittani says:

    I love that you went with Ills and The Omen. Those are excellent. I haven’t seen Alice, Sweet Alice, but that sounds very intriguing. I’m going to have to check it out.

    Like

  3. joelnox says:

    Welcome aboard!

    Interesting picks. The Omen is such a prototype of this genre of film and one of the best of its kind, the sequels are mostly trash. The young actor they cast is a large chunk of why the film is so creepy, he projects such an unsettling vibe. It also helps that the parents are played by actual stars and both Gregory Peck and Lee Remick add an air of class to the film that many of this type of film are missing.

    Love that you picked the obscure Alice, Sweet Alice. Haven’t seen it in years but I do remember it as being quite disturbing…and my God Brooke Shields is SO young in it!

    I’ve never heard of your last, Ils, but it sounds like it fits right in. I’m not much of a horror fan so I don’t know if I’ll seek it out but it is a solid choice for the theme.

    I don’t have a blog but I do play along, so I’ll just offer up mine. As I said I’m not much for horror so mine lean towards the suspense side of the genre.

    The Other (1972)-Eerie chiller about identical twins Niles and Holland Perry and a string of “accidents” that befall their family tied to a game they play. Can the game be stopped? Filled with moody dread and excellent acting from the entire cast.

    The Children’s Hour (1961)-Two young women friends, Karen and Martha (Audrey Hepburn & Shirley MacLaine), run an elite girl’s school with the assistance of Martha’s aunt. One of the girls is a vicious, cruel bully who when she is disciplined for tormenting the other children spreads a lie that ultimately devastates the lives of all involved. Based on a Lillian Hellman play that was considered scandalous in its day. Miriam Hopkins who plays the selfish aunt in this starred in the original watered down, but still good, film version in the 30’s called These Three in the role Shirley MacLaine plays here.

    The Innocents (1961)-Deborah Kerr stars as a governess in Victorian England who becomes convinced that the unnerving children in her charge are possessed by evil spirits and sets out to help them. Superb rendition of Henry James’s novella The Turn of the Screw with a brilliant, award worthy performance by Kerr.

    Like

  4. Wendell says:

    Yes, The Omen is very popular this week and you gave the reason why. Haven’t heard of those other two, but I’m really interested in that last one. Great picks!

    Like

  5. Dan says:

    Oh man, GOOD pick with Ils. Such a creepy-scary movie and those kids are real bastards. The American pseudo-remake, The Strangers, is also good. I’ve been curious about Alice Sweet Alice for a long time.

    Like

  6. Birgit says:

    I thought The Omen would be everywhere but you are the 2nd one only that I have seen being picked. I haven’t heard of the other 2 but I agree that kids who do horrible things because they felt like it or were just plain upset with something you did or didn’t do, is much more scary since it has happened. The last film sounds quite shocking

    Like

Leave a Reply

