Fear Friday: Best Horror Films of the 2010’s (so far)!

While many would argue, and I wouldn’t necessarily disagree with them, that the Golden Age of Horror may have been and gone with the 70’s and 80’s that doesn’t mean that the genre hasn’t produced some great films since then. It seems to be a pattern where a bunch of good horror films are released all at the same time then we wait a couple of years and a batch of new, good, horror films are released at the same time and thus the cycle continues. I feel like the horror genre has really picked up it’s game in the past few years so here are some of my favourites:

  • Paranormal Activity 2 (2010): Before you roll your eyes hear me out! Everyone was talking about the first PA film, I watched it at home and wasn’t scared at all. BUT, with a bigger budget and more of a story line developing I got engrossed into this film in the cinema. It made me jump (and scream) and I completely loved my viewing experience.
  • Sinister (2012): This one was something a little different. I thought the story line was intriguing and the video tapes were disturbing and Bughuul was terrifying. Shame about the predictable ending, though. Still, definitely made me jump and a little terrified of home videos.

    sinister-1

  • Insidious (2010): If the rest of this film was like its first half this would be an absolutely terrifying film and I wouldn’t accept any other answer. Insidious had my heart pounding at the title sequence. The acting was good and I enjoyed the story. It tailed off towards the end but the first half definitely makes up for it. Even if I did have nightmares about that song.
  • Scream 4 (2011): I counted down the days for this release. I was completely shocked at the reaction that it got because I thought Scream 4 captured the essence of the trilogy perfectly. It was wonderfully done, exciting and good. Wes and Kevin really showed that they still had it (whatever ‘it’ is) and is a perfect addition to the franchise.
  • Cabin in the Woods (2011): I was unsure what to make of the film at first because, really, it was nothing that I expected. I won’t lie, I saw this movie for the pure fact it has Joss Whedon’s name attached to it so I was always going to be a tad biased but I don’t even need to be. It’s creative, funny, scary, gory and wild. It doesn’t take itself too seriously and is actually a pretty accurate metaphor for horror fans.

    cabin in the woods

  • You’re Next (2011): I didn’t see a trailer or anything for this film. I just saw the poster of a guy in a wolf mask and knew I had to see it. When I found it on Netflix I was delighted and watched eagerly. This film takes ‘Final Girl’ to a whole new level. It’s insane and actually really well written.
  • The Conjuring (2013): I’ve already expressed my love for this film (or its opening at least) but I’ll say it again: BRILLIANT HORROR FILM! It’s strong from start to finish. Fantastic cast, great writing and so bloody scary. This is definitely one of my favourite horror films. Let’s hope The Conjuring 2 is just as good or better!

I hope horror can keep a strong game, it’d be nice to see the genre revitalise itself without recycling other films as it’s already done so much!

Thanks for reading,

all the best,

Andrew!

6 thoughts on “Fear Friday: Best Horror Films of the 2010’s (so far)!

  1. Wendell says:

    Cool post with some very interesting picks. My 2 cents on them…

    Paranormal Activity 2 – Sorry, have to roll my eyes on that one. The original was so much better. To go with one from this decade, give me PA4 over this one, though I wouldn’t include that, either.

    Sinister – Really solid choice, here. This was sufficiently creepy. You’re right that it petered out at the end, though.

    Insidious – Hated this one. I was bored to tears watching impotent ghosts make funny faces at the camera. Chapter 2 was better.

    Scream 4 – Glad to see this one get some much needed love. I feel like that’s it’s a way underrated movie. Granted, I’m a sucker for the entire franchise, but I really like this one.

    Cabin in the Woods – Great, great choice. Love this movie. Nothing else to say, really.

    You’re Next – Might be the most insanely fun horror flick of the 2010s. Another great pick.

    The Conjuring – This is the correct answer when it comes to director James Wan’s haunted house flicks. This is the movie both chapters of Insidious and it’s own prequel, Annabelle, which they were.

    You’ve just inspired me…to totally rip you off, if you don’t mind. I think I’ll do one of these, myself.

    Like

    • actualandrew says:

      I suppose having the same opinions about everything would be boring! But I’m glad we agree on the majority! I’m also glad that I’ve inspired you! Super excited to read your post now!

      Like

  2. sidekickreviews says:

    Great picks, I’ve seen most of these except for Scream 4 and Insidious. Sinister was so good and those home videos are totally freaky. The first PA I actually watched on my small screen computer and I had trouble sleeping that night haha. The second PA I saw in theatres, it didn’t scare me but it had some cool moments. 🙂

    Like

    • actualandrew says:

      Watch Scream 4!!!! I saw the second in theatres which is why I think it scared me so much. My first viewing expeirence was great which is why I still say its my favourite PA film! Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

