The Cutting Room #1.

I can’t believe it’s been almost 6 months since I last posted on here. In the new year I told myself I’d up the amount of effort I put into my blog and the kinds of posts I did but it didn’t happen. I put most of the blame onto university; finding time between assignments and work was difficult and the little time I did have I spent away from the computer, mostly because my eyes demanded it. However, I’m done with university work for the summer now and while I’m currently doing a 6 week placement, it means I have a little more time on my hands. I love writing and I love blogging so I’ve been keen to get back into it.

The same rules apply as before, I’ll keep up with Fear Friday and my other features whilst doing reviews where applicable. This time around I’m not going to be as strict with myself; I’ll write posts when I can and when I feel like it. I don’t want to write posts for the sake of it. But once my placement is over I’ll be completely free to write and schedule more stuff.

Movies.

Whilst I’ve been away I haven’t been to the cinema that much. Not only have I been too busy but it’s so expensive. But I have seen some stuff: 10 Cloverield Lane and The Witch are the ones that stand out for me. I’ll be sharing my opinions on The Witch on Fear Friday so be sure to look out for that.

I’m also buzzing with excitement for Captain America: Civil War. If it comes close to be as good as The Winter Soldier we’re all in for a treat. I’m especially excited for more Scarlet Witch and meeting Black Panther.

I also plan on going to see The Jungle Book. I’m ashamed to admit that the first two trailers they released terrified me. But now I just wanna see it because of the visuals and the voice acting.

Televison

Orphan Black is orphan back, kicking off earlier this month with the season 4 premiere. I lost my way a little with season 3 and had some catching up to do before watching the season 4 premiere but I’m glad I did. As much as I enjoyed the military stuff it feels like the show is going back to its roots. I just hope they don’t kill as many people this season.

I’ll also be picking up season 11 of Criminal Minds; I like to binge watch CM so I let the episodes build up before I begin watching. I’ve also been watching The People vs OJ Simpson; as someone who wasn’t born when the OJ trial was happening it’s the only insight I’ve had into trial and it’s making me question my initial assumption that he did it. But that’s a whole different set of topics to discuss elsewhere.

Other

Because of the travelling between university, work and home I feel like I spend most of my life on buses and trains so I’ve been listening to a lot of podcasts. I devoured season 1 of Serial and then moved onto some others. My favourites are The NoSleep Podcast and Aaron Mahnke’s Lore. I also read E.Lockhart’s We Were Liars and loved it. It was very YA but quite powerful too, the writing is poetic and I loved most of the characters. I’m now reading the Court of Owls story arc from the Batman comics. I’ve never been a huge DC reader but I got told that the Batman stuff was really good.

 

Like I said, I’ll try my best but I’m not forcing posts because it takes the fun out of it for me and it reflects in my writing. It feels good to be back.

Thanks for reading,

all the best,

Andrew.

 

 

Leave a Reply

