Summer TV: What I’ll be watching.

As I finish my second year of university at the end of this month I will officially be free to enjoy the very few days of sun that Britain gets and also the many shows that I have both missed and missed out on over the course of the year. My studies tend to get in the way of me being able to watch a season a week (sometimes more) like I used to when I was in high school but I manage to catch up during the breaks of each semester. This summer I’m going travelling for a few weeks so I won’t be able to watch as many shows as I usually would but here are the main ones I’ll be watching over my summer break. 

Orange is the New Black season 4: This has become quite a tradition for the past few years now and I don’t see it stopping any time soon. The fourth season of the Netflix show is due to be ready for streaming on the 17th of June and I’m looking forward to its return. Hopefully this season will have a little more going on than there was in season 3.

Criminal Minds season 11: Criminal Minds is a show that I can’t watch weekly, I have to binge it. This means that avoiding spoilers is next to impossible, especially when you follow the entire cast on social media. Therefore I know most of what happens to the characters. While it isn’t a great show and I see that it’s repeating itself with a lot of its cases-of-the-week what keeps me coming back to it is the characters. I love the cast and their dynamic so I’m excited to be watching again.

crim minds 11

Image from here

iZombie season 1: As a huge fan of Veronica Mars, I thought this summer I’d give another Rob Thomas project a go. I’ve heard it’s good so I don’t worry that I’ll be wasting my time. I don’t know much about it if I’m honest and I want to keep it that way. I feel like I often go into a lot of shows knowing the plot and basic background, giving me assumptions before I even sit down to watch the pilot, but with iZombie I’ll just leave it at the image on the Netflix icon before watching.

Scream TV Series season 2: A weekly watch which actually starts in May, so not exactly Summer but close enough, and it’ll run all over my summer break from university. The first season was enjoyable, I liked watching it but I still feel like it held back. It could have been so much more. So I hope season 2 really bring it . I’ve given up trying to compare it to the films because it’ll never be as good as the films, so I’ll take it for what it is.

scream-tv-series-cast

Image from here

The Magicians season 1: I saw a news article describe this as “Harry Potter but for adults” and it immediately sparked my interest. I love anything to do with magic so I’ll absolutely be watching this over the summer. While the trailer tells me I might need to get passed some cheesy moments, I think overall it’ll be fun to see a more grown up version of magic with its users more my age. I like how they describe magic as a drug; Buffy the Vampire Slayer did the same thing in its sixth season with Alyson Hannigan’s character, Willow, battling with addiction to the power. However, if it is just cheese and CGI I think it’ll still be my guilty pleasure.

Also, Orphan Black will run over into the first few weeks of my summer break also I’ll be keeping up with that (which is really good this season, by the way!)

Thanks for reading,

all the best,

Andrew.

9 thoughts on “Summer TV: What I’ll be watching.

  1. emmakwall says:

    Some great shows there. Not that I REALLY know because I spend way too much time watching The Chase and re-runs of Family Guy when I SHOULD be on Netflix….

    I read a review for the Scream show the other day and it sounded pretty good, light entertainment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

