The Cutting Room #6

I’ve been really busy in the past couple of weeks but I’ve still managed to blog which is good, I’m glad I’ve kept to my word. The reason for me being so busy is partly uni and partly personal. I’m super excited to announce that my podcast is now live! I’ve been working so so hard on it and I’d love for you guys to give it a listen. It’s a fictional whodunit-style mystery about an internet celebrity going missing. It’s called Who Took Harmony Warren and it’s entirely produced and written by me, there’s a full cast of talented people and I’m really proud of it! So if you’re feeling nice, maybe you’ll give it a listen and let me know what you think?

Aside from that, this week I celebrated my fourth Valentine’s Day with my girlfriend, we went to York which is one of the best cities in England in my opinion. I’ve also been fighting off a cold but I’m over most of that now. Anyway, lets crack on with what else I’ve done since last time.

MOVIES

I haven’t managed to get to the cinema to see any films since my last Cutting Room post but I have watched a few films. The first was Inferno which came out at the end of last year. Me and my mum vowed to watch it in the cinema but never actually did, but we watched it last weekend and I enjoyed it. It wasn’t as good as the previous Ron Howard/Dan Brown ventures (certainly not as good as the book) but I liked it. I’ve written a review so that’ll make an appearance soon enough.

The second was 13th  which was just jaw-dropping. It was so topical and poignant that it’s hard to ignore. I wouldn’t say I come from a place of ignorance, I’m definitely not the type of person who avoids talking about topics like racism; I think it’s important people are educated and know what’s happening but this documentary opened my eyes to a whole host of things I didn’t know. It really made me reevaluate things. I’m so happy that it’s been recognised by the academy.

 

TELEVISION

I started and finished A Series of Unfortunate Events on Netflix and loved it. The tone was great, it was funny and twisted. I already posted a review where I explain why I loved it so much.

I also watched the first episode of Legion the X-Men based TV show from FOX and it was amazing. A really good, strong pilot and the cast seems great. I can’t wait for more.

Other than that I’m at a bit of a stand still with TV. There’s nothing that’s really drawing me in to binge watch. (Which is good because I have a dissertation to write).

OTHER

I’m done reading The Raven Boys, it’s taken a while because of uni and being ill but I’m really glad I picked it up. I’ll be continuing with the series so it’s Dream Thieves next.

That’s about it for now, let me know what you’ve been up to!

Andrew. 

Leave a Reply

