The Cutting Room #7

As my uni work increases and the hunt for graduate jobs continues, I’ll be happy when March is over. I have two assignments due in this month and then I can devote all of my time to my dissertation. And then I’m free. Despite my busy schedule, I’ve actually been able to sit down and watch some films which I’m happy about.

Movies. 

The first film I watched since last time was Arrival and honestly, I loved it. It was a slow burner and not at all what I expected it to be. But I’m glad. When I was explaining it to my friends I tried to avoid the words ‘it’s a film about aliens’ because it’s so much more. The performances were fantastic. Especially Amy Adams (who’s just brilliant anyway) and I really didn’t expect the ending. I’m so happy this was nominated for some Oscars, even if it didn’t win loads, I’m glad it got recognition.

I also watched I am Not a Serial Killer and was bored to death. I know a lot of people probably love it (it was my friend who recommended it, actually) but I just wasn’t interested at all. Which is sad because it seemed like my kind of thing.

Logan was fantastic. It’s the best film in the X-men franchise. So different, so mature and so refreshing.

I got very excited over the Alien: Covenant trailer. It looks great and the cast seems pretty decent. Get Out is finally coming to cinemas over here this month and I’m so ready for it. That 100% rating on Rotten Tomatoes sealed that one for me.

TV. 

I can’t say I’ve watched much tv at all really. I’ve just been keeping up with my weekly shows. Riverdale is slowing down a bit now. I’ve realised I’m only watching for the murder mystery element but even so, it’s still enjoyable. And Legion is giving me mutant feels and making me very excited for the X-Men tv show that’s in the works. Hopefully it’ll be just as good as Legion.

Other. 

I’ve been absolutely obsessed with Lorde’s new song, Greenlight. I don’t think I’ve mentioned this before but Pure Heroine is my favourite album, Lorde’s music is beautiful and I’m so happy she’s back.

I also took part in Two Dollar Cinema’s Mt. Rushmore blogathon which you should definitely check out because there are some amazing entries!

That’s about it for this time, let me know what you thought of Logan and feel free to hit me up about Lorde. I could talk for hours.

Andrew.

4 thoughts on “The Cutting Room #7

  1. sati says:

    I don’t know how I never found your website (just got here from Two Dollar Cinema) in our little blogosphere 🙂 so glad to see so much love for Logan from movie fans, my God what a fantastic movie. Arrival unfortunately disappointed me :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

